Welcome

New beginnings

Hey whoever is out there,

First day at the new job then I guess. Pretty daunting to write into oblivion and and not know what the futures holds. But, hey, I started and that half the battle. I don’t really know where to start. I designed my space, put some pictures up – the one on the main page is my bed (oblivious). It is where I do my daydreaming and world conquering. I updated my about me page and got a lot of stuff in there about why I am doing this and now… well I guess I have to write.

I want to start by explaining the name of my blog…finding ikigai. First of all, I love pinterest (an app you should DEFINITELY check out). Pinterest is a visual bookmarking tool that helps you discover and save creative ideas.

With Pinterest you can:

  • Plan a project: home refurbs, garden redesigns and other DIY stuff
  • Get creative ideas: recipes to cook, articles to read, gifts to buy and creative ways to save money
  • Explore a hobby: from comic art and camping, to woodworking and weaving
  • Save travel inspiration: outdoor adventures, family fun, road trips and much more
  • Find your style: fashion, home décor, grooming tips and beauty inspiration

Anyways, here’s the link: https://uk.pinterest.com

Back to the story, I was scrolling through Pinterest at quotes and vocabulary and came across this word. Now at the time, I thought that’s a beautiful word and ‘pinned’ it. There it sat until I was looking for a something to try and discuss this journey I am on and then I went back through my pins and saw it. It hit me like a lightening bolt and it was perfect.

image

One thing to know about me – I have never been single for more than a month. I am in love with the idea of love and I have had good love and bad love all of us.However, I have lost myself to the cold and bitterness in this world and I refuse to be that person anymore. I want me back and my accident made me realise that I am just temporary lost. So I made a decision and I am committed (with fault starts and slip ups of course). But I am here and ready to sop hating myself because let’s be honest, it has not gotten me very far. Time to change perspective, I want to be in love with my love like I use to be. I want to travel alone and rediscover myself. I want to realise my worth and be truly aware that I do deserve good things.

To conclude, here I am. Day one. And I am scared. I am scared of failing. But my little brother once told me “be the writer not the reader”. He was referring to my passion for life and making a difference. I lost this along the way and I am starting to want it back. I am learning to never let the naive and the bitter hearts of the world tell you that you cannot do something. Life is for living. I rarely, actually never, hear someone say “I dream of things that are not for me” or “I dream of nothing I could achieve”. Do you ever wonder why some dream of adventures or love and others dream of careers? It’s because your dreams are your hearts deepest desires. Sometimes, you get weird dreams and I believe that that’s your mind of refining the boundaries of your desires. What about De ja vu? that’s easy. That is a moment you have previously dreamt about, a previous desire of the heart or a remainder that you are on the right path to achieving your dreams. So when you hear the saying “never regret anything” believe it 🙂 it was once the content of your dreams and you are continuously evolving into the version of you that you choose to create. You have the ability to shape your life and your dreams will lead the way. Nothing is too big or too far for you so hold your head high and your nerve and carry on living out your dreams. It’s only in your head that you feel like you are looking down on.

Love always,

Ivy x

Author: Ivy iris

This is my story of finding my ikigai. Ikigai (生き甲斐, pronounced [ee-ki-ɡU]) is a Japanese concept meaning "a reason for being". According to the Japanese, everyone has a hidden ikigai. Finding it requires a deep and often lengthy search of self. Such a search is regarded as very important, since it is believed that discovery of one’s ikigai brings satisfaction and meaning to life.

Leave a Reply

