Bathtime

“There must be quite a few things a hot bath won’t cure, but I don’t know many of them.” —Sylvia Plath

Since my accident, I have really discovered the pleasure in having a bath. The filling of the tub, the water around me, the heat that surrounds my body. But more importantly, setting the scene. It is actually important to light candles, find your favorite scent or flower and add them to the room, leave your phone at the door and escape into your thoughts and dreams. I promise you that whatever and whoever is needing to get in touch will stay be there 20 minutes later. It is important to take time for you. I have always made myself so available and God was I stressed all the time. I think if I am not available then my friends won’t like me and someone may not want me anymore. How wrong have I been!!

The first thing to go when I am stressed is my “me” moments. Whether it be mindfulness, clarity, organisation, whatever you do in your moments to get through the hardships, don’t stop just because you think it is not important or won’t make a difference. My dear you are wrong. You are the most important person in your life. This is something that it going to take a long time to sink in and believe. I am mine before I am anyone else’s. I need to continue to nurture myself, love myself, work on my flaws and celebrate how far I have coming. Stop being over critical on myself. We are all guilty of it. I think sometimes people in this world (that a big generalisation I know) need to open their heart to the kindness and love that is out there. Be grateful, be kind, be the best version of you. The bitter ones need someone like that the most.


Smile even if you really don’t want to. Trust me, you will be surprised of the impact it has. Take a bath and refocus. Count your limbs and realize that you are breathing. Take your book and challenge yourself to read a chapter before you get out the bath. Stop disregarding yourself as an irrelevant fact and realist you are worthy of happy thoughts and good things. You are enough. Make time to show yourself that.


I made a Pinterest board for bath heaven ideas, my own “me” moments and projects to try. I’ll keep you posted (http://pin.it/NyZgnts). Likewise, what makes you relax. What have your tried? What did you want me to try for you? I’m totally up for any suggestions.

Now, go take a “you” moment, you deserve it,

Ivy x

Author: Ivy iris

This is my story of finding my ikigai. Ikigai (生き甲斐, pronounced [ee-ki-ɡU]) is a Japanese concept meaning "a reason for being". According to the Japanese, everyone has a hidden ikigai. Finding it requires a deep and often lengthy search of self. Such a search is regarded as very important, since it is believed that discovery of one’s ikigai brings satisfaction and meaning to life.

Leave a Reply

