A place for dreams

So I did it. I sent off my PhD proposal and all I feel is pure euphoria. Whether I get it or not, I did something with my whole heart and give it my all. I saw it through to completion and worked me butt off for it. So what if I fail but seriously, what if I fly? What if I get it? That’s my biggest dream come true! I deserve this as much as the next person. My celebration is a hot chocolate in my mug mug, in my favorite pyjamas with Rupert. Absolute worth it. 

As much as my accident as hindered my from work and limited my ability to do things, it has enabled me to apply for my ideal PhD. If you know anything about me, it’s that I believe in the silver lining more than fate itself. There is my silver lining in all of this. I am so grateful for the time to be apply to apply my whole heart to this. And I was apply to do it in the comfort of my bed. The featured bed in this post is my bedroom at night. This is the heaven I create every night to project my creative and myself. As crappy as my days get, this is the one guaranteed thing that will always happen. I put my lights on and no matter what the weather my own starry sky Takes away my worries and my fears. The pain of the past and the unsecurities of the future. My place of safety, where  that very dream of doing a PhD was made. 
  
It is said that Truman Capote wrote his great novels (breakfast at tiffany’s and in cold blood) in bed – completely horizontal with a cigarette and coffee. The coffee would switch to tea, then sherry, then martinis, as the day wore on. He wrote his first and second drafts in longhand, in pencil. And even his third draft, done on a typewriter, would be done in bed — with the typewriter balanced on his knees. You have to find that place that brings out the human in you, put soul in you and love in you. Where you fall back and regroup in a matter of minutes or hours and you dream the wildest of dreams and when you wake, those are the plans for reality. By creating that one place where you can rest peacefully then you allow your imagination to map out your future. So big and so wild that the vorfreude makes you want to jump out of bed each morning and chase it like a sunrise. Weirdly, there are those night were sleep did not seem to make it onto the agenda. The hours between 11pm and 5am can either make you feel like the entire ocean in a drop or – worse – a drop in the ocean. Either way make your bed and your room – your throne. And if you find yourself up at 11:59, then I will bestow some advice ( a quote that I was given by a good friend) that may help. Read and retread the following to yourself until you believe it: 
11:59 p.m.



In one minute,

sixty seconds or 

sixty thousand milliseconds

today will be gone

and today is yesterday

and tomorrow is today.

What a beautiful concept,

that something can pass

ever so quickly

and we never give it

a second glance. 

Think about it.

All of the things you’ve 

done today, 

the lists you’ve made,

places you’ve been,

things you’ve touched, 

songs you’ve heard,

conversations you’ve had

will soon become a memory,

or even worse (or better), 

it will be forgotten. 

Lost amongst your yesterdays.

12:00 a.m.



Today has arrived.
When your alarm goes off, wake up, get up and get it sorted. Yesterday would be allocating anymore time to you, so stop spending your todays ruminating in it. May your coffee be served hot and your smile by worn boldly. 

Author: Ivy iris

This is my story of finding my ikigai. Ikigai (生き甲斐, pronounced [ee-ki-ɡU]) is a Japanese concept meaning "a reason for being". According to the Japanese, everyone has a hidden ikigai. Finding it requires a deep and often lengthy search of self. Such a search is regarded as very important, since it is believed that discovery of one’s ikigai brings satisfaction and meaning to life.

2 thoughts on “A place for dreams”

  1. There is indeed, so much irony in the concept of time. We would not know reality if we did not experience life events. Our imaginations would have no impact on our life journeys, if we did not dream. Thank you for your beautiful post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

