A perfect gift with an unexpected twist

Happy Monday all,

I don’t know about you but I love giving presents to people. I especially like it when the person you are buying for is one of the most caring people you would ever be lucky to meet. I am lucky enough to have her in my life and her friendship. We have been through the wars with love and anything else life has decided to throw at us. I have known her for 15 years ever since I moved to England and she is the chair(wo)man of my board of life trustees. She is my most loyal, kind friend with a wicked sense of humour, good girl mentality to the core and the ability to break out the worm in any dance floor on command. Nickname: Fancy Pants. How is she single, I have no idea. Most recently, Hannah was on the Vieber trip with me when I had my accident and this girl (as well as my other friends on this trip)  literally pieced me back together, but Hannah especially. She lay there whilst I cried my eyes out and relived my nightmare over and over again. She held my hand and never let me think it was not going to be okay or I wasn’t going to make it. She sat with me as I faced the mountain again and never let me feel alone even at 4am when the rest of the world slept soundly.

11257168_10153346485799595_2643384501883361242_n
Hannah and I
So, I thought that I wanted to get her something special, maybe from notonthehighstreet.com as there is always cute things on there. But I went on Etsy instead and I am so glad I did. As I typed in ‘personalised gifts for your best friend’, I was hoping for some inspiration, however I never expected to find such a perfect gift. And even a bit more. You see, as well as discussing our loves and our losses and everything in-between, Hannah and I share a passion for reading. We have different tastes in books; I read romantic fiction and she reads books she can learn from. Nonetheless,she recently let me borrow a great book called “The Shock of the Fall” which had an incredible perception on mental health. I highly recommend the book by the way. Anywho… I was scrolling through Etsy and something caught my eye. I scrolled back to it and clicked on “Personalised Bookmark.” OF COURSE. What a ideal gift from one bookworm to another and I can make sure that I put something on there to remind her that she is one of my most favourite (sorry about the terrible english but I cannot describe her in simple english) people in this world. So I reset my search and bang – about 50 different options came up. My first thought: OH MAN, I NEED COFFEE.

As I scrolled through, there were large ones, small ones and ones with every font you could imagine. However, there was one that really stood out to me because it had a tassel attached. I know it sounds silly but the tassel just seemed to make it work and look complete, you know?  It was just lovely with this adorable font that would make any phrase look ritzy. When I clicked on this link, I would have no idea of company I would experience. Millie Rose Designs (https://www.etsy.com/uk/shop/MillieRoseDesignsUK) did not just give me a personalised bookmark for my friend. The lovely owner, Tracy, has a passion for creating beautiful things and the talent to match. She gave a service second to none and the package, well, it was a gift in itself. My address was beautifully written in calligraphy, the bookmark was wrapped in a pastel-coloured tissue paper with a sticker, a little bag of sweets was included inside the package and best of all, a personalised note to say thank you for my order.

IMG_0313.JPG

Now I am not one to be blown away easily but this is something else. She clearly cares for her products and her customers. I emailed her to say thank you for such a perfect gift and to tell her my story behind my quote that I choose. Through conversation and a desire to have one myself, she offered to make another one for me and even hand delivered the second bookmark. I will admit that I don’t think that service will equate to customers in Scotland as I am currently local to her and it was on route to her journey but still what a service.

These words (…and with or without anyone’s acknowledgement or affection, you are enough) are my own and it was never written to be a quote in itself but then again I guess all the best quotes are. This is just a string of 11 words that were a part of a text that I sent Hannah. It relates to love, or more so, the love for one’s self above all else. It felt right to share with the story behind my quote with Tracy. We spoke about it across a few messages and I had an urge to meet her, to ask her about her passions and still have the urge. She is someone that has a gracious heart and is deserving of success. She thanked me for bringing her this quote to her and I thanked her for talent. Unfortunately, I was out when she delivered the bookmark and I was sad to have missed her but I hope to meet her one day. She is someone that I would like to become a friend because you don’t find passionate people that invest in the lives of others so easily and give with such abundance.

So if you looking for someone different to give to someone, I highly recommend Millie Rose Designs. Tracy can create you your very own bookmark as well as other handmade gifts that will bring a smile to your face. All of which can be personalised and all very affordable. Her package will be unmistakable and you will be giving your business to a deserving individual who cares more for her customers than the money you bring her. So thank you Tracy for sharing your talent with me and I hope do get the chance to meet one day.

Until next time,

Ivy xxx

Author: Ivy iris

This is my story of finding my ikigai. Ikigai (生き甲斐, pronounced [ee-ki-ɡU]) is a Japanese concept meaning "a reason for being". According to the Japanese, everyone has a hidden ikigai. Finding it requires a deep and often lengthy search of self. Such a search is regarded as very important, since it is believed that discovery of one’s ikigai brings satisfaction and meaning to life.

Leave a Reply

