Mistakes

Today I made a mistake at work. I beat myself up about it and I sat reflectively through the rest of my day. I sat and I thought you can be better than that. To some this was not a big deal. To me, it meant I made a stupid mistake, be reflective, be mindful and be prepared to work harder. One thing I will say is that everyone in that building is incredible. My team amaze me. They sat and told me their mistakes, everyone one of them did. I felt embarrassed, I felt like I didn’t do my job properly, like I need to work harder at that. So I have taken tonight to switch off and I realise that there is someone who has a worse day than me and I am more than the mistakes I make. I didn’t show my team that I appreciate them but it made me feel better. I know I am bound to make mistakes but the biggest problem with that is me. I am my biggest critic and I am also my biggest fan. I believe I can do better, I know I can. But I also believe that I will never make that mistake again and that I am one of the hard working people I know. That’s not me being big headed it’s me making myself that way. I work everyday to be hardworking because I want to be that way. I work hard and I love my job. This is just a part of learning. Mistakes are part of learning and I shouldn’t be too hard on myself, I know. However today, with everything I just needed to reflect. Tomorrow is a new day. New challenge.

Author: Ivy iris

This is my story of finding my ikigai. Ikigai (生き甲斐, pronounced [ee-ki-ɡU]) is a Japanese concept meaning "a reason for being". According to the Japanese, everyone has a hidden ikigai. Finding it requires a deep and often lengthy search of self. Such a search is regarded as very important, since it is believed that discovery of one’s ikigai brings satisfaction and meaning to life.

4 thoughts on “Mistakes”

  1. The concept of learning to not beat yourself up over a mistake is sucha difficult yet important one to learn! I am glad your team was there to support you, and as you said, remember that mistakes are simply a part of learning. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Well one who make mistakes is a human being..
    But a very few people learn from them, that’s what is good about you.
    And yes keep making mistakes because that’s how you gonna learn something..
    I know am too young to advice you because you have seen a lot more than me. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

