Coffee Mornings

And it’s the weekend…. Finally. The first week back at work has been hard but gosh it’s nice to have the routine again. And since moving, I have wanted to get out there in against society. So I decided what better way to find who I am this morning, then to go to my first “meetup” event.

Meetup is an app that is great for new people to an area or someone who wants to try something but doesn’t want to go alone! You can search for group in your area – LGBT group, dancing group, movie junkies, walking group etc. – and you can go to events and meet people. Let’s face it, people don’t really meet the organic way anymore – it’s mostly through a screen, which I have come to love the benefits of but I miss human communication.

So I went to a coffee morning, which is perfect for new members and an informal way to meet new people. I was a tad nervous, changed my outfit about a million times, but I had to go. I thought if I want to make the most of this move, really  discovery myself and find my ikigai, then I have to do this. I find a quote on Pinterest this morning before I went and it was just what I needed to build the motivation to go and do it. Catherine Saunders wrote “put yourself out there, boldly and authentically”

image

And let me just tell you –  It was so great! So amazingly and wonderfully great. Everyone was so friendly and welcoming. I stayed for 2 hours and I didn’t want to leave as I really enjoyed it. I found myself smiling all the time Whilst I was there and even now just thinking about it. I came home and signed up for more coffee mornings. They happen twice a month and  this suits me great.

I am learning to take my own advice and push myself hard enough so that I find my own ikigai. I want this and I want to know who I am. Gosh I feel good today off to finish my “Sunday Stories”.

Have a beautiful day all,

Ivy xx

Author: Ivy iris

This is my story of finding my ikigai. Ikigai (生き甲斐, pronounced [ee-ki-ɡU]) is a Japanese concept meaning "a reason for being". According to the Japanese, everyone has a hidden ikigai. Finding it requires a deep and often lengthy search of self. Such a search is regarded as very important, since it is believed that discovery of one’s ikigai brings satisfaction and meaning to life.

3 thoughts on “Coffee Mornings”

Leave a Reply

