How to deal with rejection….first hand experience 

Dodinsky once wrote….

Closed doors. Rejection. They do not decide your fate. They simply redirect your course. You must keep moving because life’s detours can also be meaningful. 

No one likes to be rejected. From a job, a person, a group. It’s one of the worst feelings in the world. This week already, I have had three rejections from jobs. Jobs that I really wanted. I had interviews that I walked away from feeling good, thinking I said all the right things and sold myself (not a skill I possess I can assure you). I waited patiently for each response, only to be met with rejection emails stating that I…

  • was a good candidate but I didn’t have the experience 
  • was their second choice 
  • was employable but just didn’t quite do enough

All positive and constructive feedback which I appreciate. But you know when you just want a break, just want someone to believe in you. That’s where I am at. I have been reflecting on this this evening and I thought I would put my thoughts to typing and see where I got to. I have to believe that the these three doors that didn’t open were not my doors. It’s about trying every key on the ring to find that it’s the last one is the one you need. It’s learning from the detouring that makes you move ahead. 


We are all confined only by the walls that we build ourselves and I think sometimes that I forget that we all fall down. Before Alice got to Wonderland, she had to fall pretty hard down a deep rabbit hole. But look at where she ended up. I am learning to clear my mind of cant and the negative thoughts. I am learning to not fear the uncertainty of trying. Great things never came from being in the comfort zone. I am going to believe in myself and all that I am. I want to know that there is something inside me that is greater than any obstacle. I love wholeheartedly and put everything I am into anything I do. I dont want to be cold and bitter in this world. So yes, I have been rejected but this does not define me. 

Until another day, 

Ivy xx

Author: Ivy iris

This is my story of finding my ikigai. Ikigai (生き甲斐, pronounced [ee-ki-ɡU]) is a Japanese concept meaning "a reason for being". According to the Japanese, everyone has a hidden ikigai. Finding it requires a deep and often lengthy search of self. Such a search is regarded as very important, since it is believed that discovery of one’s ikigai brings satisfaction and meaning to life.

6 thoughts on “How to deal with rejection….first hand experience ”

  1. Such brave lessons to learn, I’m still working on that, myself.Rejection from a potential job can be quite rough, especially if you’ve been at it a while and have received several non-responses and/or rejections. But from my view point you seem an intelligent and committed person – so I am sure you will find that right fit, soon. Best of luck!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for your supportive words. I totally agree with this. I think it is so important to remained focus even in the face of rejection. You never know what or who is around the corner x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

