The great outdoors 

Good morning all, 

So last weekend I went camping with 13 of my closest friends. It is a bit of a tradition that we all go camping together. It started last year and I know what you are thinking… How is that a tradition! Well to me a tradition is something that you are willing committed to doing. Whether that be the passing of beliefs, legends, events, information. It is a continuous pattern that, in my eyes, that you wholeheartedly don’t break. 

There is an affirmation that I know relating to nature which says – when the root is deep, there is no reason to fear the wind – and it is so relevant here. I love this saying because people come into your life and either set up camp or go again. Both are fine and you need both types of people in your life in order to evolve as a person. These specific friends not only set up camp in my life, they grow trees as tall as redwoods. Our roots run deep and together we never fear any weather because we all have each other. I adore every one of them and want them all to succeed in life and on their pursuit of happiness.

So we walked, played volleyball, cooked, drank and spent time without our phones. We reconnect with each other organical every time we get together. I don’t need my phone around them because they are the ones texting me. I have an abundance of love on tap to me at a drop of a hat, a support network that is on call 24/7/365. They pulled me out the darkness after my accident in viebier and never let me feel alone. That is true love, real love. I know how rare it is to have 24 close friends that I can call any of them and go to the pub for a drink or ask for help without a fear of rejection. Those groups tend not to exist anymore however I am fortunate enough to be able to say that I truly have 24 best friends that know me and have become my family. 


If you take anything from this post, take time to grow roots with the people that loved you when you didn’t love yourself. Let your roots grow down deep into those relationships and let your life be built on them. Set your roots deep enough and you will dance in the rain and laugh in the face of a storm because you are strong enough with them. 

Author: Ivy iris

This is my story of finding my ikigai. Ikigai (生き甲斐, pronounced [ee-ki-ɡU]) is a Japanese concept meaning "a reason for being". According to the Japanese, everyone has a hidden ikigai. Finding it requires a deep and often lengthy search of self. Such a search is regarded as very important, since it is believed that discovery of one’s ikigai brings satisfaction and meaning to life.

3 thoughts on “The great outdoors ”

Leave a Reply

