365:5

“My first love is literature. It started with a feeling whilst scenes were set and opening lines read. It grew to admiration within the breath-catching moments and its twisting roads. And then suddenly, all at once, I was in love. It was within the broken spines, the dog-eared corners and the barely there covers of my favourite books where I learnt what love truly was. And when the world is feeling cold and unpermissible, it’s within these worn-out pages that I find myself again. I find healing and forgiveness for the world where bitterness has claimed so many of us. I find my impossible possible and I am whole again.”
Author: Ivy iris

This is my story of finding my ikigai. Ikigai (生き甲斐, pronounced [ee-ki-ɡU]) is a Japanese concept meaning "a reason for being". According to the Japanese, everyone has a hidden ikigai. Finding it requires a deep and often lengthy search of self. Such a search is regarded as very important, since it is believed that discovery of one’s ikigai brings satisfaction and meaning to life.

7 thoughts on “365:5”

  1. “you may survive the grief, you won’t ever be exactly the same. It took me a long time to learn that, and sometimes the whole experience comes back on me and I have to learn it all over again.”
    ― Julie Reece Deaver, Say Goodnight, Gracie
    This is a GREAT photo Ivy – books are our escapism 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I believe those of us who read and become engaged with different characters are never truly alone. We can always escape into a book or think about different ways we’d change the story, how it would be like in real life, with certain characters. Honestly, when you read and open yourself to knowledge, it’s freeing and it’s a reason to want to have some alone time, even though you’re immersed in a book. Love your blog. Your quotes are beautiful, especially your own!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

