Sunday adventure day 

Hey all,

I hope your Sunday is going well. It’s been a great day – first Sunday Story has gone out, Corey was great to work with and so honest. She really made it easy to write.

And then we headed out to a national trust property today and it was so brumously beautiful. We arrived when it was foggy and it had a certain eeriness to it. However, then it cleared up slightly and it was lovely. It’s just what I needed today.

The property is set in the heart of rural Northamptonshire (about 30 minutes drive from me). The foundations of Lyveden represent a remarkable survivor of the Elizabethan age. We read about the unfinished house and how it was started by Sir Thomas Tresham to symbolize his Catholic faith, however, it remains incomplete and virtually unaltered since work stopped on his death in 1605. It describes Sir Thomas’s dream and how it all ended in a nightmare for the Tresham family with their involvement in the Gunpowder Plot.

The land around the property showcases beautifully crafted moats, viewing terraces and an Elizabethan orchard to explore, as well as an enigmatic garden lodge covered in religious symbols. The full extent of Sir Thomas’s symbolic design remains unexplained to this day. The location made us think about his character. It’s set outside the town of Oundle however it’s a distance from the exquisite market town. What did this man want to get away from? What was his story?

We walked around trying to pinpoint the blueprint of this home and although we could see the property would have been splendid and grand, we felt a significant sense of injustice for the dreamer. I walked away feeling that it was the start of something beautiful. Its walls lingered with aeipathy. And the story commuovered an orphic motivation within me to stop delaying my dreams. It was another magical place that is on my doorstep.

We also had a coffee, a bloody good one, in the cottage next door. The light was beautiful and caught Liv’s face perfectly. She didn’t notice me taking photos but I noticed her. I always notice her. She has the softest eyes and the kindest smile that I have ever had the privilege of witnessing. Then she saw me and the goofball came out. She has swiftly become my favorite chapter in my book. Well, the first of many.

img_1586

Now I am back home and thinking about my goals for the month and year. I feel excited and ready to take on the world.

Have a good week all. Thank you for all your support this week. Your comments, likes, and encouragements never go unnoticed. My grateful heart is so happy to have you all behind me.

Ivy xx

Author: Ivy iris

This is my story of finding my ikigai. Ikigai (生き甲斐, pronounced [ee-ki-ɡU]) is a Japanese concept meaning "a reason for being". According to the Japanese, everyone has a hidden ikigai. Finding it requires a deep and often lengthy search of self. Such a search is regarded as very important, since it is believed that discovery of one’s ikigai brings satisfaction and meaning to life.

4 thoughts on “Sunday adventure day ”

Leave a Reply

